Author Topic: Sterilizing Jars  (Read 26884 times)

Offline Shazzy

• View Profile
Sterilizing Jars
« on: May 04, 2011, 02:29:36 am »
Hi I am just wondering if I could have some advice please about sterilizing jars and bottles.  I realise that there are many different ways to do this but is there some ways more effective or easier than others? My sister and I tried Jam on the weekend and washed the jars and then poured boiling water in them. We then filled them with the hot jam and turned them upside down.  4 of the jars made a sucking type sound but the other 2 didnt - are they supposed to???? Also I am wondering about making sauces and syrups and how to store those. I usually buy them in a plastic aqueeze bottle but if I am making my own I am wondering how people store them (Ie brownie or coffee syrup) so that they can easily be poured. I realise that this is probably a fairly basic question - but I have never done this before as sterilizing jars has always put me off!!!!!! Thanks for any help. Sharyn

Offline thermoheaven

• View Profile
Re: Sterilizing Jars
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2011, 03:15:17 am »
I like to wash and rinse my jars before putting them into a low oven to dry and sterilise them.

The sucking sound is the vacuum being created as the jars cool. When you open them, they'll pop just like store bought jarred products.

Offline Chelsea (Thermie Groupie)

• View Profile
    • My Blog - Full Little Tummies
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2011, 03:57:01 am »
I scrub mine in hot soapy water and then rinse with boiling water.  I put them upside down on an oven tray and put them in the oven (at around 140 degrees) until they are completely dry (about 20 minutes).

I would use your batch of jam up in the next couple of months as I don't think your jars would have been sterile and mould could be a problem.

Offline judydawn

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2011, 04:18:12 am »