Author Topic: Your "Go to" Salad for hot summer nights?  (Read 21473 times)

Offline ELH05

• View Profile
Your "Go to" Salad for hot summer nights?
« on: January 31, 2012, 12:52:22 pm »
Mods - please move if in wrong spot - my 1st post!

I'm a TM newbie - actually 2 days new !  It's a hot Perth at the moment and sick of garden salad, potato salad & coleslaw - what's your face TM fresh tasting summer cold salad ???  I'm after some inspiration !

Thanks

Offline Tasty

• View Profile
Re: Your "Go to" Salad for hot summer nights?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 01:41:20 pm »
There are some nice Asian salads in the Dinner Spinner app that I have made recently such as the Vietnamese Chicken Salad.

Offline fundj&e

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 05:38:55 pm »
hello and welcome to the forum ELH05

Why not pop over to 'Introduce Yourself' on the home page and tell us a bit about yourself

uni
i don't need a recipe i'm italian

Offline knittercook

• View Profile
    • My Blog
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2012, 07:50:44 pm »
My two favourites besides the ones you mention aren't really TM ones but I will share them here.

The first is the very 1980's Layered Garden Salad:
http://aww.ninemsn.com.au/food/cookingtips/776608/layered-garden-salad

and the second is one that has been handed down through my family:

boil two eggs and keep the yolks aside and chop the whites finely and add the whites to some finely chopped iceberg or cos lettuce and then make a salad dressing by combining the egg yolks (mash these with a fork), sprinkling of sugar (about a tsp), a glug of brown vinegar and stir in some thickened cream until you get a nice dressing.  Taste for seasonings if needed, sorry I don't have the exact amounts as I have been making this since I was a kid and it has been a bit of this and a bit of that  :P

Sharon
Seize the moment.  Remember all those women on the Titanic who waved off the dessert cart.  ~Erma Bombeck

my blog http://shazknit.blogspot.com