Author Topic: Sang choy bow  (Read 12378 times)

Offline dyljon

• View Profile
Sang choy bow
« on: December 18, 2010, 09:36:50 am »
This is my first attempt at a recipe conversion, and it worked out pretty well... adapted from CSIRO Total wellbeing diet bk 1.

Name of Recipe: Sang Choy Bow
Number of People: 2-4 depending on how hungry you are!
Ingredients:
1 iceberg lettuce (or baby cos)
6 water chestnuts, finely chopped (could do this in tmx at start I guess - I forgot so did it by hand.)
1 tbs EVOO
8 shiitake mushrooms (I use dried and soak them in boiling water for 5 mins)
2 cloves garlic
2cm piece ginger
400g lean minced pork (or pork/veal mince)
50g dried rice vermicelli, soaked in hot water for 10 mins then roughly chopped
2 tbs oyster sauce
1 tbs salt-reduced soy sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 small red chilli (or more if you're like me!)
1 egg
hoisin sauce
4 spring onions finely sliced

Preparation:
Discard outer leaves of lettuce, then cut whole leaves from head to form cups. Set aside.

Chop garlic and ginger 3 seconds, speed 7, then scrape down sides of bowl. Add EVOO and shiitakes, saute 2 mins, varoma temp, speed 1.

Add mince, cook 8 mins, :-: ^^, placing steamer bowl on lid instead of MC.

Add water chestnuts and noodles for 3 mins, 100 temp,  :-: ^^

Add oyster sauce, soy sauce, cornflour, chilli and egg. Cook 10 mins, 100 temp,  :-: ^^

Allow to cool slightly before dividing into lettuce cups. Drizzle hoisin sauce over top and sprinkle on sring onions.

Tips/Hints:
I sometimes don't bother with the lettuce and just eat this as a bowl of mince! In its proper lettuce form it's nice alongside some steamed Asian greens.

members' comments