Author Topic: Hi from New York City  (Read 23541 times)

Offline Home cook

• View Profile
Hi from New York City
« on: June 01, 2009, 02:55:40 am »
Hello everyone...

I read a recent article in the Wall Street Journal that described the Thermomix in such a way that I was absolutely convinced I needed to get it.  I am a pediatric occupational therapist with my own practice here in New York City.  I work a lot of hours and I was looking for a way to cook healthy food without spending hours in the kitchen.  Subsequent research via the internet sealed the deal for me.  I contacted a Canadian distributor and had the Thermomix imported from Quebec.

My first dish was the mushroom risotto which was quite a success at my dinner party.  I first made the vegetable stock which was a great way to learn about the machine. The second dish I attempted (the ice cream recipe from the Australian cookbook that arrived with the machine) was a different story.  It was supposed get firm in the freezer in three - four hours but was still a liquid after seven hours.  I substituted vanilla extract for vanilla essence and maybe that was the problem?  The alcohol in the extract interfered with freezing?  My friends, with the wonderful risotto still in their bellies, forgave me for my promise to serve a delectable ice cream with chocolate sauce. For dessert we headed out to our local creamery.

Has anyone had any success making ice cream from scratch in the Thermomix?  Also, are there additional recipe books anyone can recommend?  Thanks so, so much in advance for any suggestions/advice.  We don't have distributors in the US so I am on my own here and I would love to hear from others with any suggestions/tips concerning the TM.

I look forward to spending this summer making all sorts of dishes (soups, spreads, sorbets, and pizza).  I will share the results of my experiences. 

Offline MrSpock

• View Profile
Re: Hi from New York City
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2009, 03:13:08 am »