Author Topic: Carrot and Spinach Slice  (Read 7483 times)

Offline Snoozie

• View Profile
Carrot and Spinach Slice
« on: November 01, 2009, 07:56:41 am »
Okay this is my first attempt so be kind to me!  This is a favourite here and the tmx has made the prep so much easier!  Any hints/suggestions to cut down on washing up would be appreciated! :)

Name of Recipe: Carrot and Spinach Slice
Number of People: 6

Ingredients:
1 bunch silverbeet/spinach OR 2 x 250gr packet frozen chopped spinach
2 whole eggs
3 egg whites
1 1/2 tblsp concentrated vege stock
2-3 cloves of garlic
15-20gr (2tblsp) grated parmesan cheese
45-50gr (1/2 cup) grated tasty cheese
300gr (3 cups) grated carrot
70gr (1/2 cup) diced onion
100gr (3/4 cup) SR Flour
pepper to taste
cooking spray
extra 45-50gr (1/2 cup) grated tasty cheese

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees fan forced*.

If using silverbeet: Wash then remove white stalks**. 

Cut silverbeet leaves into thin strips*** .  Microwave in a little water for 3 minutes.  Drain really well by pushing out as much water as possible from silverbeet and leave to one side.

If using frozen spinach: defrost and squeeze as much water out as possible before using (guess which method I use most?! heehee!).

If you haven't already grated, diced etc:
Put EXTRA tasty cheese in tmx and grate it for a few seconds on speed 4-5.  Put to one side.
Then put the tasty cheese and garlic cloves in and again grate for a few seconds on speed 4-5.  Put to one side.
Put roughly chopped carrots and onion quarters in the tmx and grate for 15-20secs on speed 4-5.  Put to one side and wash tmx.
Put all eggs in tmx and beat for 30 seconds on speed 7-8.
Add concentrated stock, garlic and cheese (from bowl to side) and parmesan cheese to the tmx and combine for 30-60 seconds on speed 7-8 in REVERSE.
Add in carrot and onion (in bowl to side) together with spinach (sitting to side draining) and combine for 1 minute on speed 4-5 in REVERSE.