Author Topic: Types of flours for bread?  (Read 31444 times)

Offline darls

• View Profile
Types of flours for bread?
« on: February 16, 2010, 02:22:57 am »
I am making some orders and would like to know what flours I could look at for bread-making among other baking stuff.

- Premium Bakers White Flour
- Whole Wheat Self Raising Flour
- Unbleached White Self Raising Flour
- Spelt Wholemeal Bread Mix
- Seven Grain Bread Mix
- Seven Grain Kibble Mix
- Whole Spelt Flour
- Lightsift Spelt Flour
- Lightsift Wheat Flour
- Buckwheat Flour

I am new to this kind of baking so I am pretty open to suggestions and comments about those flours. Such as what each is good for, any other uses, etc.

I only have until tomorrow to put in my final order - last min gal, that's me! ;)

Cheers with thanks!

Offline quirkycooking

• View Profile
    • Quirky Cooking
Re: Types of flours for bread?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2010, 03:50:54 am »
Hi darls,
I don't use wheat, I just use spelt, rye, barley, etc, and gluten free flours.

I never buy self raising flour, as it's easier to have one type of flour in the cupboard/freezer than two - all you have to do is add 2 tsp baking powder per one cup of flour to make it self raising.

don't bother buying buckwheat flour - buy the whole grain (make sure it's hulled) - it's very quick to grind, and grinds to a fine flour in about 30 seconds.

I wouldn't buy wholemeal flours at all - just buy the grain and grind your own, plus buy some sifted, unbleached white flour to add to it to make your bread lighter.  (I use 250g spelt grain + 450g unbleached plain spelt flour to make two loaves of bread.)  You'll find it cheaper to buy the grain instead of the wholemeal flour, and it's better to grind your own as you need it, as it goes rancid quickly once it's ground, especially if not kept in the freezer.

Hope that helps! :) Jo
Quirky Cooking: http://quirkycooking.blogspot.com/
Thermomix Consultant, Atherton Tablelands, FNQ, Australia.

Offline cathy79