Author Topic: Yoghurt has set, but not quite thick enough... any tips for thickening?  (Read 10708 times)

Offline Quirk

• View Profile
I have made a couple of batches now and although it has set, it is just not quite thick enough for my liking.

Anyone have any ideas on what I can do to improve the thickening aspect?

Thanks in advance :)

Offline cathy79

• View Profile
What recipe are you using?  There are a few floating around.

I have been making Valerie's yoghurt for about 6 months now, and it is fantastic.  And thick right from the beginning, and no milk powder.  So very natural.  And not as tart as the bought varieties, so my kids love it.
Helping you to take back control over what your family eats, one meal at a time.
Email thermomix.darlingdowns@gmail.com

Offline Quirk

• View Profile
Yes, we are using Valeries recipe too, but it is still a bit runny. Should I leave it to set longer? Last time I left it for 6 hours.

Offline cathy79

• View Profile
I've let it set for over 8 hours (rather than get up in the middle of the night) and I don't think it get's any thicker.  So I'm not really sure now.
Helping you to take back control over what your family eats, one meal at a time.

Offline Chelsea (Thermie Groupie)

• View Profile
    • My Blog - Full Little Tummies
What are you using for your starter Quirk?  I find Jalna organic pot set yoghurt quite good.  Remember you can always strain your yoghurt a little if it isn't to your liking.  Straining through a clean tea towel in the rice basket works well.  :)

Offline Quirk

• View Profile
Using the Jalna pot set yoghurt as a starter.

It might not be thicker enough, but it is still delicious, so I can't complain too much!

Offline Thermomixer

• View Profile
    • Thermomixer
Try heating it to 90 degrees for about 15 minutes - this results in changes to the protein molecules that help make it set better.  Check this study  http://www.medicinalfoodnews.com/vol01/issue5/kalab.htm
Thermomixer in Australia