A non official Thermomix forum. Thermomix is a registered trademark of Vorwerk.
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2014, 11:55:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
374797 Posts in 14886 Topics by 12033 Members
Latest Member: Jo Oz
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  Forum Thermomix
|-+  Questions Doubts and Requests
| |-+  Questions? Technical Issues? The Survival Guide (Moderators: cookie1, judydawn, Cornish Cream)
| | |-+  Help! Thermomix error doesn't go
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Help! Thermomix error doesn't go  (Read 7281 times)
mattandmontse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: January 01, 2010, 08:35:06 PM »

Hello all,

I wonder if you can help us. We were making sorbets with our Thermomix last night (which by the way are great little palette cleansers in between courses). We accidentally opened the top before the programme had completely finished. The "Open" error appeared.

The instruction manual tells you that to reset this, put the Speed indicator to "open lid" then "close lid". However, that hasn't worked. We've turned it off at the source, hit the on and off power button and done what it says on p.40 of the manual to no avail.

Has this happened to anyone else or does anyone have any ideas? Hope it's not serious.

Thanks in advance.
Logged
judydawn
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 31133



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 10:16:13 PM »

HI & welcome to the forum mattandmontese, pity your first posting is because of a problem and not because you are getting along famously with your TMX.  Must have been scary for you.  I've never had that word show up on mine, but when I get any error symbol I have fixed it just by turning it off at the power point and removing the jug, leaving it for a few seconds then starting from normal again. Hope by now your problem has solved itself and if not, someone else comes in with an answer.
Logged

Judy from North Haven, South Australia

Learn from the mistakes of others. You haven’t time to make them all yourself.
Thermomixer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8636



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2010, 11:29:09 PM »

It happened to me once - but turning it off and then back on a minute later cleared the problem
Logged

Thermomixer in Australia

http://thermomix-er.blogspot.com/ - my blog

http://thermomixmagic.blogspot.com/ - our joint blog in Oz - please feel free to join us.
Thermomixer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8636



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2010, 11:30:14 PM »

Phone your consultant and see if they have any other ideas.
Logged

Thermomixer in Australia

http://thermomix-er.blogspot.com/ - my blog

http://thermomixmagic.blogspot.com/ - our joint blog in Oz - please feel free to join us.
Gralke
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 182


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 12:37:12 AM »

that error has happened to me when I turned the tm on and had the speed button already turned higher than 0. Normally it then went away. Yesterday my dough setting wouldn't work - made no sound nor anything so I unplugged the TM for 10 minutes and it reset itself. i have had many electronic problems with my bimby and it came back from maintenance 3 weeks ago, I hope that yesterday was a "one off" and not the start of the problems....
All the best and welcome
Barbara
Logged

Barbara
cookie1
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 24387



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2010, 08:22:28 AM »

Welcome mattandmontse. I hope your problem has been solved.
Logged

May all dairy items in your fridge be of questionable vintage.
Chelsea (Thermie Groupie)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2632


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2010, 11:16:21 AM »

that error has happened to me when I turned the tm on and had the speed button already turned higher than 0. Normally it then went away. Yesterday my dough setting wouldn't work - made no sound nor anything so I unplugged the TM for 10 minutes and it reset itself. i have had many electronic problems with my bimby and it came back from maintenance 3 weeks ago, I hope that yesterday was a "one off" and not the start of the problems....
All the best and welcome
Barbara

I know the dough setting won't work if the bowl contents is above a certain temp.  Could that have been the problem yesterday Barbara?  Smiley
Logged

vivacity
Guest
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2010, 11:39:14 AM »

I also had a problem with my Thermomix yesterday while making rote Grütze: "E.52." After a lot of swearing patience I found out that the metal pins under the TMX were wet, so I just dried them and then the machine worked again Undecided
Logged
cookie1
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 24387



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2010, 12:01:50 PM »

All these little hints are good.  I've had a problem a couple of times with my machine when I use turbo.  It is like it has no energy to do Turbo. It's only happened a couple of times, so I'm probably doing something weird. The lid is locked etc and the turbo goes but very lazily.
It took me ages to work out and see in the manual that the kneading would only work below a certain temperature. It caused a bit of panic.
Logged

May all dairy items in your fridge be of questionable vintage.
Gralke
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 182


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2010, 02:16:21 PM »

Chelsea - I had just turned the tm on, had not used it for anything yet so it wasn't warm at all. I have had this happen before once when the scale would't work, neither the button made the ring sound when I pressed it, it was as if it did not exist. Weird. But then it reset its self.

Cookie, I believe I read in the manual that the turbo setting only works when the ingredients are cold - not warm.
Logged

Barbara
cookie1
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 24387



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2010, 03:06:57 AM »

Thanks for that. I looked and looked. I guessed it would be something simple.
Logged

May all dairy items in your fridge be of questionable vintage.
Chelsea (Thermie Groupie)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2632


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2010, 03:20:29 AM »

I didn't know that about the turbo setting and warm ingredients.  I still haven't sat down and read my manual properly though  Embarrassed.
Logged

cookie1
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 24387



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2010, 05:28:26 AM »

I think we're all a bit like that Chelsea.
Logged

May all dairy items in your fridge be of questionable vintage.
Katya
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 923



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2010, 10:43:46 AM »

My problem is not not reading the manual, but remembering weeks afterwards that I've read something in it.   Sign of age methinks... so can only get worse.   Cry
Logged
meganjane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3784



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2010, 02:46:57 PM »

Just a hint for when you do want to blitz something when the TMX is hot. Very slowly move the dial up to 9 or 10. Make sure the MC is on!!
Logged

I love to cook with wine. Sometimes, I even put it in the food.
MJ Skincare
The Bush Gourmand
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

 
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.5 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!