Author Topic: Rich Plum Pudding  (Read 13714 times)

Offline berringamababe

• View Profile
Rich Plum Pudding
« on: November 05, 2012, 11:14:50 am »
Original Recipe  Checkout readers recipes II  submitted by Rae R Baker Lilydale
I have been making this plum pudding at Christmas time for 16 years and had always boiled it in a cloth, every year my friends have asked if they are still getting there plum pudding for Christmas as it is a favourite.
This is my second year using TM now and I use a glad oven bag
225 g plan flour
1 tsp bicarb soda
250 g butter
1 small carrot
250 g fresh bread crumbs
250 g sultanas
250 g currants
250 g raisins
60 g glace cherries
60 g dried apricots
300 g brown sugar
1 green apple
80 g blanched almonds
rind and juice of 1 lemon and 1 orange
1 tsp mixed spice
1/2 ts nutmeg
60 g brandy or rum
1/2 tsp
salt
4 eggs beaten
3/4 cup milk

Place fresh bread in TM speed 8 for 10 seconds set a side.
Place the rind of lemon and orange in TM speed 8, 10 seconds, then add dried apricots speed 8, 10 seconds.
Add carrot, apple and butter cut into chunks blitz a few seconds.  Add all other ingredients and mix speed 4 reverse for 20-30 seconds scraping down the side of bowl with spatula until well mixed.

Place into an oven bag and put into a pudding basin or bowl place in varoma basket and steam on varoma settingspeed 4 for 4 hours making sure water does not run dry.

I hang for a couple of days to dry, wrap in foil and calico and store until Christmas day.  The attached photo is half the mixture as I make it into 1 large and 2 small puddings and give the smaller as gifts.

Offline snappy

• View Profile
Re: Rich Plum Pudding
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2012, 11:28:53 am »
Thanks Berringma babe.

I'm really interested in steaming the puddings in oven bags as I haven't done this before.  When you set the puddings up to dry, do you remove them from the glad bag?  Are they removed from the bag before you wrap in foil?