Author Topic: Granola or Lightly Toasted Muesli  (Read 15609 times)

Offline Luvtobake

• View Profile
Granola or Lightly Toasted Muesli
« on: November 10, 2014, 04:23:49 am »
Hi everyone.
I am a total newbie, and haven't even purchased a TM5 yet.
Just doing the research, and thought this might be a great place to come and ask some questions to help justify the purchase.
Thank you for the yoghurt thread!

I am starting to make a lot of my family's food 'from scratch' due to various reasons.
One thing I make every week is toasted muesli/granola. It is pretty laborious, and quite messy toasting in the oven on trays and then pouring into jars once cooled.

I've googled & googled and found lots of recipes.

My first question is, since the new Thermomix can go to a slightly higher temp, does anyone think you could successfully toast muesli in it?

Offline achookwoman

• View Profile
    • Chook woman
Re: Granola or Lightly Toasted Muesli
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014, 07:06:38 am »
Lovetobake,  don't think it would be hot enough,  but I would give it a go with a small amount. If you put the oats and nuts in you would need reverse , and even this might chop the oats up. Try putting the nuts in and cook them for say 5 mins on varoma and when they are hot try adding some oats. When I make my recipe , I like to bake the oats really well, also the roasted nuts give the Granola a nice Flavour. Let us know how you go.

Offline judydawn

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2014, 07:10:46 am »
Welcome to the forum LTB.  When do you expect to order your machine, there is quite a waiting period at the moment so if you want it before Christmas, please do think of that.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2014, 01:13:59 am by judydawn »
Judy from North Haven, South Australia

Make the most of every day, you never know what is around the corner.

Offline Cornish Cream

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2014, 05:10:10 pm »