Author Topic: Slow-cooked Spicy Calamari  (Read 29368 times)

Offline judydawn

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Slow-cooked Spicy Calamari
« on: March 03, 2010, 09:42:00 am »
I found this on recipefinder (Geordiegirl's kitchen) and thought it ideal for the TMX. We all know you can cook calamari either very quickly or for a long time and I have never done it the slow way before but the TMX does it beautifully. 

INGREDIENTS - 1 bunch spring onions cut into 5cm lengths
                      3 small cloves garlic or 1 large one
                      1/2 tspn sambal oelek or chillies to taste
                      3 tblspns olive oil
                      3 Tblspns tomato puree
                      250mls chicken stock (or veg stock)
                      4 calarari tubes, skinned & cut into 2cm strips (tedious but prevents it from being stringy)
                      2 Tblspns cornflour mixed with a little water
                      200-300g pasta shells
                      1200g boiling water, salted

METHOD   -     Chop onions, garlic and chilli 2sec/speed 5.  Scrape down with spatula and repeat.
                     Add oil and saute 4 mins/100o C/speed 1.
                     Add tomato puree, chicken stock and calamari strips.
                     Cook 40 mins/70-80o C/Reverse/speed 1.
                     Thicken with the cornflour mixture 3 minutes before the end of cooking time.
                     Pour the calamari into the thermosaver and cook some pasta shells (no need to wash the bowl). Drain
                     when cooked and add to the calamari.  Leave to sit for 5 minutes before serving.

PASTA     -     Pour 1200mls boiling water into the TM bowl, add 200g-300g pasta shells and cook as per packet
                    directions at 100oC/reverse/speed1.
                    Time will depend on the size of the pasta. Leave MC on an angle to
                    prevent boil over.

Members' comments