Author Topic: Lip Balm  (Read 16740 times)

Offline em

• Me and my little spiderman!
    • View Profile
Lip Balm
« on: August 11, 2011, 06:39:04 am »
So this is my first attempt at making my own lip balm, so anyone's advice or experiences would be appreciated!

Lip Balm

2 T beeswax
2 T shea butter
2 T coconut oil
few drops of your favourite essential oil or flavouring eg. vanilla or chocolate!

Firstly melt the beeswax, i started the temperature at 60 degrees but it wasnt melting too well, so went upto 70 then eventually 80 degrees.  it took a few minutes to melt, around 3 minutes.
Then add the shea butter and coconut oil and continuing melting at 90 degrees.  Add oils or flavours now.  
It only took around a minute or two for this to melt into a liquid.  Then pour into small containers and allow to set.

I am presently waiting for mine to set, but i have tested it while still warm and it feels lovely and moisturising on my lips!

I got this recipe off of a wonderful website i have been spending alot of time on lately called organic authority
oh one last thing i wasnt sure how well the beeswax in particular would come off of the tm bowl, but after washing it out well with hot water i can not feel or see any residue on the bowl.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 09:04:44 pm by em »
Emma from Victoria

Offline judydawn

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Lip Balm
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2011, 06:42:20 am »
Good one em, where did you get the ingredients for this please?
Judy from North Haven, South Australia

Make the most of every day, you never know what is around the corner.

Offline em

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2011, 06:45:23 am »
hi judy, just from my local health food store, and not too badly priced for the amount of lip gloss i will be able to make from it.  was so simple to make, i certainly wont be buying anymore lip glosses!
Emma from Victoria

Offline teagg

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 03:00:15 pm »