Author Topic: Green Breakfast Smoothie for Beginners like me! -dairy free  (Read 26485 times)

Offline Jamberie

• View Profile
Green Breakfast Smoothie for Beginners like me! -dairy free
« on: December 30, 2012, 02:42:24 am »
I decided I needed to get some more 'greens' into me and I thought "Green Smoothies" would be a good way to do it. When I was researching different recipes I found they weren't quite specific enough (ie a bunch of greens, some water etc) and as I am new to green smoothies, I wanted a foolproof recipe that doesn't taste 'green' & kept me full until at least morning tea. I think this one fits the bill -even my 2 year old loved it!

Name of Recipe:        Green Breakfast Smoothie
Number of People:     1 or 2
Ingredients:

150g banana (or 1 large or 2 small)
30g greens (for beginners silverbeet with white stalks removed or baby spinach are not too strong)
20g blueberries (roughly a handfull)
160g pineapple (peeled but you can leave the core if you choose)
100g ice (if the fruit are not pre-frozen)
200mL cold water (variable according to your taste)
130g pear (or one pear) -this is optional

Preparation:

*Put banana, greens, blueberries, pear, pineapple & ice (if using) in TMX bowl and pulverise 30secs/speed8

*Add approximately 200mL cold water and pulverise for 1min/speed8

Tips/Hints:
*I like to use cold fridge water
*When adding the water I add enough to reach the 1L mark inside the bowl.
*This amount gives me 1 large glass, DH 1 smaller glass and DD (age 2) 1/2 a glass.
*As we have more and more of these 'green' smoothies, I intend to cut down on the sweet fruits and add things like LSA and other "superfoods".

I have a Facebook page with all things cooking, you'll find it here: https://www.facebook.com/What-Amber-Ate-1097437023601587/

Offline Amy :-)

• View Profile
Re: Green Breakfast Smoothie for Beginners like me! -dairy free
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 03:00:42 am »